Suriname Elects new President

Photo: Noticia Digital
Photo: Noticia Digital

(Prensa Latina) Suriname’s parliament elected on Monday Chandrikapersad Santokhi as new president, whose Progressive Reform Party (VHP) won last May’s elections.

The new ruler replaces Desi Bouterse of the National Democratic Party (NDP), who was the head of state since August 2010.

Ronnie Brunswijk, the leader of the General Liberation and Development Party (ABOP), became vice president.

The VHP and ABOP are part of a coalition that includes the Surinamese National Party and Pertjajah Luhur and controls 33 of the 51 parliamentary seats.

Suriname is a member of the Caribbean Community (Caricom).

Suriname elections were held on May 25 to elect the 51 members of the National Assembly, regional and district councils.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Tu dirección de correo no será publicada.